Version 3.3

Version 3.3 of DX10 Scenery Fixer is available.

The release is already loaded up to Fastspring and the Flight Sim Store have built their installer and should be uploading it within the next day or so.

The release consists of a collection of customer requests that I have received over the past few months.

Aerosoft Zurich V2″Fix”

The Transparency V2 option in the Legacy dialog which generally gives the best solution for legacy airports was causing black markings on the taxiways at Zurich V2. The “fix” deals with this so you can now use V2 Transparency with this airport.

 

Tree Lighting Slider
A customer contacted me to say that he liked the Tree Lighting feature which adjusts the lighting of trees when the sun is low in the sky but felt that the effect was too strong. I have added a slider which changes the strength of the feature.

    

 

Shadowing of Backlit MFDs
Another customer complained that the white text on the MFDs) became hard to read when looking towards the sun. The reason was that the text was being dimmed by the VC shadowing, which is not how illuminated displays work in real life. I have added a new feature to disable the shadowing of MFDs in certain aircraft (it all depends on how the MFD is implemented)

This improvement is known to work with the PMDG 737NGX and FSL A320X.

 

Flightport Aircraft

Another customer reported some issues with the Flightport Cessna Soloy which showed black squares around some controls. Investigation showed that this caused by some ” surface normals” which were broken in some way in the model. I have added a test into the logic to prevent these normal causing the graphical issues that were seen.

 

FSX Directory Override

When you installer the fixer libraries you have to specify the path to your FSX installation. You cannot subsequently change this whilst the libraries are installed. This is to ensure that the fixer knows the state of the installation and so can revert changes accurately if e.g the libraries are uninstalled. If for any reason you want to switch the fixer to another installation or move your fsx installation then you must uninstall the libraries first, change the path and then re8install the libraries.

Occasionally customers make a mistake and find that the fixer thinks that they have the libraries installed but that they cannot uninstall because the path is invalid.

Over the last few release I have added many extra checks into the fixer to assist in these scenarios – e.g it now checks that the directory is valid at startup for instance by looking for fsx.exe – if it cannot find it then the installation path is blanked and can be changed.

 

However to make sure that there are no holes left I have added a new override option into the preferences.

 


 

If you tick the Emergency change then all checks are disabled and you can enter a new FSX path. Please only do this as a last resort!

 

 

 

 

 

About stevefsx

I don't use FSX that much. But I am very annoyed when it doesn't work properly!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Version 3.3

  1. Lorenz Mueller says:

    Dear Steve, Please send me the version 3.3 DX10. With best thanks and kind regards View Profile

    • stevefsx says:

      You just use the download url that you received when you purchases the fixer – it will download the latest version. If you have lost it let me know and I will resend it to you.

  2. John Funnell says:

    Hi Steve, just checked Flight Sim Store and they still have version 3.2.2 for download, any idea when V3.3 will be available?

  3. Lorenz Mueller says:

    Dear Steve, Unfortunately I lost the download URL. Please send it to me. Best regards View Profile

  4. Bartek says:

    Dear Steve, If I lost my download link is any change to upgrade my version to latest (3.3)? Thank you very much for answer in advance

  5. Lee Jin Yeol says:

    Dear Steve, I lost my download link.Thank you very much for answer in advance
    Your purchase history and the email address you received at the time. I ask you to receive it again.

  6. PS74 says:

    Good morning to your Sir! is it possible to get a new download link? as many other people here I guess I lost it. Thank you very much!

  7. Hypofx says:

    Hi Stevie,
    Just simply install the new or i should uninstall the old one ?

  8. Thomas says:

    Dear Steve, I lost my download link to …Please send me the Link again

    Thank You
    Cheers

  9. Gary Colling says:

    Dear Steve, if you could send the download link. Many thanks

  10. arcadius1962 says:

    Hi! I bought DX10 Scenery Fixer (PayPal 16.05.2017). What next? I didn’t get the link downloadable with the licence (sorry for my English :-)). Cheers.

  11. arcadius1962 says:

    Thank you for your reply. The program is working great. Regards, Arek.

Leave a Reply

