DX10 Cloud Shadows V1.6

This release provides a new slider to adjust the METAR feature.

The Offset value determines the cloud coverage in eights at which the Metar option is first applied. This was added in response to feedback that the Metar option worked great in near overcast conditions but was perhaps too exaggerated e.g at 4/8ths and 5/8ths.

The following enhancements and bug fixes are also included:

  • Fix for top down view which showed clouds as if viewed horizontally(!)
  • The Metar shading is now more responsive for the first 30 seconds of a flight to make it more reactive to weather injection e.g by ASN or REX weather engines/
  • Metar Shading now applied to autogen and to water specular sun reflections.
  • Shadows are hidden when aircraft self shadowing is not enabled and the flight is paused to avoid the shadows moving with eyepoint.

Note that aircraft casts shadows on self is no longer essential for the display of cloud shadows so long as FSX is not paused.

Note that that initially the update was failing with an error.  Whilst I have updated the download to address this,  if you downloaded before 23:30 GMT  and you had an error then to resolve follow the following process exactly.  (Sorry for this…)

  1. Uninstall libraries.
  2. Uninstall cloud shadows and  Dx10SceneryFixer
  3. Reinstall the fixer
  4. Install libraries
  5. Install 1.6 of cloud shadows.

 

About stevefsx

I don't use FSX that much. But I am very annoyed when it doesn't work properly!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to DX10 Cloud Shadows V1.6

  1. Andrew Pharoah says:

    Steve,

    I’ve run your DX10Cloud Shadows update, but when i go into ‘Addons’ in DX10 Controller v3.2 and tick the ‘Shade with METARs’ box, no Offset box or slider is visible.

    Any advice please?

    Thanks in anticipation

    Andrew

    • Michael Fazakas says:

      Hi Steve

      Zip file as requested

      Michael

      On Thu, Feb 2, 2017 at 12:48 PM, Steve’s FSX Analysis wrote:

      > Andrew Pharoah commented: “Steve, I’ve run your DX10Cloud Shadows update, > but when i go into ‘Addons’ in DX10 Controller v3.2 and tick the ‘Shade > with METARs’ box, no Offset box or slider is visible. Any advice please? > Thanks in anticipation Andrew” >

  2. Michael Fazakas says:

    Hi Steve

    When installing V1.6 I get the following error message. Patching fixer libraries (0).(0) System error was 1072807676. Then patching fixer failed.
    Could you advise.
    Kind regards
    Michael Fazakas

    • stevefsx says:

      Sorry something has gone wrong, can you send me a zip of the c:\stevefsx\dx10sceneryfixer\libraries directory to examine please.

      You can resolve the issue by uninstalling cloud shadows, uninstalling the fixer, reinstall the fixer and then install 1.6 but you shouldn’t have needed to do that

      • Michael Fazakas says:

        Hi Steve
        Thank you for the reply will try the fix. Will send you the zip file.
        Thank you again for the great product!!!!
        Kind regards
        Michael Fazakas

  3. Andrew Pharoah says:

    PS

    Also as reported by Michael, exactly the same outcome on with me:

    When installing V1.6 I got the following error message. Patching fixer libraries (0).(0) System error was 1072807676. Then patching fixer failed.

    I ran the installer again and it appeared to work fine so I ignored the problem. Then i discovered the ‘no Offset box or slider’ problem described in my first support request.

    Andrew

  4. Jamal says:

    Do anyone know what the Enhanced Shadows options do? And why is it disabled?

  5. Michael Fazakas says:

    Hi Steve
    All functions correctly, thank you!!!!
    Michael

  6. STUART HYETT says:

    Steve,I have tried installing Cloud Shadows 1.6, but every time I receive the following error: “Patching fixer libraries (0).(0)System Error was – 1072807676 Please advise Regards,Stuart

    Sent from Yahoo Mail on Android

  7. STUART HYETT says:

    Steve,Ignore my last email.I should have RTFM !!After uninstalling / reinstalling etc it’s all fine.Thanks,Stuart

    Sent from Yahoo Mail on Android

  8. Andrew Pharoah says:

    Hi Steve,

    I’m have followed your instructions to uninstall Cloud Shadows and Scenery Fixer, then re install. I have tried to download the Scenery Fixer from the original link provided, but I get a browser page that says:

    File Download

    DX10SceneryFixer_3_2_98.msi (Not Available)

    Could you advise please?

    Thanks in anticipation

    Andrew

    • stevefsx says:

      Sorry Andrew, as its over 21 days since the last update the link was dead, I have reset it for you.

      • Andrew Pharoah says:

        Hi again Steve,

        I think I’m sorted by doing the re-install.

        I notice that the water button is disabled and in Diagnostics it says Warning! Water40 Shader is not the original. and Warning! Cloud Shadows requires original water shader.

        Please can you advise what this means?

        Thanks

        Andrew

        Andrew Pharoah

        Partner

        English Oak Vineyard

        07970 121812

      • stevefsx says:

        Yes it means that the water40 shader is not the original one shipped with fsx and has been modified. Almost certainly you have installed the striking software water configurator.

        Because the shader has been altered dx10sceneryfixer leaves it alone as it doesn’t know what it does. That’s fine and you get the water shown exactly as striking software intended.

        However cloud shadows has the same issue and so you will not see cloud shadows in water unless you restore the original water shader.

      • Andrew Pharoah says:

        Thanks for that Steve,

        I believe that I installed FSWater Configurator some time ago and that may be the culprit. If I do nothing, I guess I get no shadows on the water?

        If I revert to FSX, I guess I just need to uninstall Water configurator and FSX will take over again?

        Thereafter I will get the Water button enabled and get water shadows?

        Thanks for your forbearance with this

        Andrew

        Andrew Pharoah

        Partner

        English Oak Vineyard

        07970 121812

      • stevefsx says:

        Yes that’s all correct. I would assume that the water configurator would restore the original shader.

  9. Michael Fazakas says:

    Hi Steve

    Something new pops up, usually after the3rd startup of fsx, fsx crashes. The only way to prevent this is to deselect cloud shadows and restart fsx. All works again. If I then reactivate cloud shadows it works until I restart fsx.
    Any ideas.
    Kind regards
    Michael Fazakas

    • stevefsx says:

      No, what is the crash report saying in the windows application log? Does it happen with metars unticked? Issues with bad weather stations can cause fsx crashes.

  10. Michael Fazakas says:

    Metars unticked makes no difference. Will take a look at he crash reports.

    • stevefsx says:

      Can you use the yahoo email from pg2 of the manual as you can send attachments.

    • Himmelstraum says:

      Hi Steve, I’ve the same problem, I installed yesterday CS and when it’s turned on (with and without METAR),
      FSX will crash 1-2 Mins after takeoff and most time the full computer also or FSX will run but with black screen. No logs or events are saved in Windows. I reinstalled DX10 fixer 3.2 + CS 1.6. I checked all settings of your tools, FSX and the computer and installed the latest graphic driver for my nvidia. Nothing solves the problem. Do you have an idea? Greets Mike

  11. Selah McCalmon says:

    Hi Steve, where do I get this update ?

  12. Selah McCalmon says:

    Hello Steve, In future updates will the cloud shadows on mountains be fixed ?

  13. Martin says:

    i purchased the fsx dx10 cloud shadows – received the invoice but no download link – please help

  14. Patrick says:

    Hey Steve.im using envtex and your dx10 fixer.I have an issue or not ?The sunrays are not on the sun when I move the camera.
    They move away from it

Leave a Reply

