Version 3.1 Available

Version 3.1 of DX10 Scenery Fixer is now available from FastSpring for new and existing customers. It will also shortly be available to existing customers from The Flight Sim Store.

If you purchased from FastSpring then the download link that you received by email when you purchased should become valid again and allow you to download the new version.

If you have lost your download link then send me an email to the stevefsx email address at yahoo and I will sort it out.

If you purchased from the Flight Sim Store then log onto your account there to download the updated version.

Changes are

Added check for FSX running before library uninstall/install.

Improved sequence of library removal to handle any locked files better.

New sliders for specular reflection (sunlight/moonlight) in Water Dialog (Customer Request)

New Fix in Toolbox for Baggage Carts that cause false shadows.

Fix and change in Alpha Test handling to support Just Flight Tobago sun visors.

Added installation notes into installer for new purchasers.

Fix for tab order in dialogs.

Added a few notes on REX setup for new customers.

Bug Fix: The shadow option “Reduce Fade in Poor Visibility” was incorrectly fading shadows at high altitude.

About stevefsx

I don't use FSX that much. But I am very annoyed when it doesn't work properly!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

45 Responses to Version 3.1 Available

  1. zhiwan says:

    I have lost my download link , send me the link ,please.

  2. Fabio says:

    Thanks for the update!

    Will the cockpit tooltips be implemented in a future update? Also, when I’m using the Tinmouse 737, I get invisible tires and transparent fuselage. Any idea on how to fix this?

  3. QFA1213 says:

    Sorry, not sure if its come up before but just a question regarding the reduce shadows in rain. I’m not sure if it’s a sim limitation but I loose shadows even when above the rain/clouds. Using ASN i just toggled rain keeping the clouds and all other aspects the same:
    Rain on: http://image.prntscr.com/image/6c30d5f20b624e07a9a4e66a3a9d4cfb.png
    Rain off: http://image.prntscr.com/image/04f3169d3c2a4c75b02a2c33cf6cda6c.png

    • stevefsx says:

      Yes, you are correct, the shaders know if it is raining but not the height relative to cloud base, so it will hide shaders above the clouds, sorry!

      • QFA1213 says:

        So I guess the only way around that is cloud shadows, which is something that I don’t think we’ll ever see in FSX.

  4. Marcus Holmes says:

    Steve do you know if it will ever be possible to have cloud shadows on the ground in FSX like in P3D?

  5. mike N404 says:

    Grate new version Steve, thank you very much.
    Moon and sun reflections being controllable is a great feature.
    I finally can put reflections where I believe it is most natural, everything is working really excellent and I’m very satisfied.
    I also appreciate the fact that you continuously improving the product realizing that lots of us are committed to the old FSX, which has been revived by your excellent software.
    TH HL
    mike

  6. Gerard Cabezón says:

    Hi Steve,

    Thank you so much for your work. I know how hard is and I hate piracy. this youtube channel explains how to install an illegal copy of your software:

    In another vein, can you explain how to remove window frame in FSX?

    Thank you very much and keep the great work.

    Best regards,

    Gerard

    • stevefsx says:

      Gerard – best advice is to download the dx10 how to guide from nzfsim – there are instructions in there on how to remove the window frame.

      • Gerard Cabezón Barberá says:

        Thanks for your answer! I’ll look for it.

        I tried to denounce the pirate YouTube channel, but only you can do it the pirated product owner.

        Greetings,

        Gerard

  7. Vieillard Gilles says:

    I can read the optimizations and other tweaks for FSX steam are the same as for FSX.
    FSX Steam seems no longer accept certain values manually entered into the FSX.CFG file. I am looking for a list of compatible optimization values for FSX STEAM.
    Because “affinityMask”, “Fiber Time Fraction” … should be grayed out on the CFG FSX Settings window. Like this, already with “High Mem fix”.
    Is it possible to see here on a future release?

    thank you in advance

  8. Sorry, Please read, “other tweaks for FSX steam are NOT the same as for FSX”.

  9. Jim Arnold says:

    Hi Steve I have lost my download link and would like to update from V2.8 to the most current version. Thanks.

  10. Andrew Pharoah says:

    Hi Steve

    I would like to update to version 3.1 but have lost my download link and cant find the Yahoo address link for you that you mention above. Please can you assist?

    Thanks in anticipation.

  11. Gilles CHARRETIER says:

    Hi Steve

    I would like to update to version 3.1 but have lost my download link and cant find the address link for you that you mention above. Please can you assist?
    I can send you my licence number or order ident if you need it.
    Thanks in anticipation.

  12. daniel says:

    Hi Steve, Today after updating FTX central v2 to v3, I ran the fixer DX10 Controller, and then windows defender found this malware, I have to be worried?
    file:C:\SteveFx\DX10 Scenery Fixer\bin\DX10Options.exe

    I have to remove it?

  13. Dave FF says:

    Hi Steve,
    Concerning the Tree lighting option (light trees based on sun position).
    I really like this as it gives more variation and depth to the visuals, except for a slight problem.
    When trees are sun facing, but in the shadow of terrain (e.g. in a valley in the late afternoon or evening), they still appear to be illuminated, which makes them stand out unnaturally compared to the ground texture they are sitting on. It ends up looking a bit odd.
    Is it possible to suppress the tree lighting when they are in shadow?
    Thank you,
    Dave.

  14. Bernd says:

    Steve, need your help please,
    I have reinstalled my FSX on a new Hard Drive and fail to reinstall SceneryFixer, After deinstallation and reinstallation it will always refer to the directory of the old hard drive. How can I completely delete SceneryFixer and all its settings to start from scratch?
    I suppose that upgrading to 3.1 will not fix the problem?!

    Cheers,
    Bernd

    • stevefsx says:

      What version are you on, with 3.1 if you uninstall the libraries you should be able then to change the fsx directory assuming thats what you mean. I think that there was a problem with earlier versions as the library uninstallation would fail.

      Otherwise uninstall and then delete c:\programdata\dx10sceneryfixer, then reinstall.

  15. Greg says:

    Hi Steve, I’ve recently bought your tool (3.1), but running it significantly deterioratiates quality:

    DX9/DX10 comparison

    (in addition in DX10 everything close to white glitters in still image, when images starts moving either plane or camera then effects become overwhelming)

    FSX / nVIDIAInspector settings

    FSX cfg’s:
    DX9 – http://pastebin.com/M10TF80i
    DX10 – http://pastebin.com/3sHmyrPe

    It is acutally a clean FSX:SE installation (basic tweaks in place in cfg).

    Do you have any clue what is happening ?

    Cheers,
    Greg

    • Greg says:

      HI Steve,

      Thanks, it is actually the case, any clue where to look at for source of the problem, I’ve run out of ideas ? Thanks.

      Cheers,
      Greg

    • stevefsx says:

      You have no AA enabled in DX10.

      In Dx9 you have Antialiasing off in fsx (correct) and are overiding to a combined mode of 4x antialiasing plus 2x super sampling.

      In dx10 you have antialiasing off in fsx (incorrect) a setting for it in fsx.cfg of 2x but that is being ignored as there is no flag against the device entry and an overriding combined mode in NVI which is being ignored.

      Use the fixer Dx10 controller to set 4x AA which wil correct your fsx.cfg then change your NVI profile for dx10 to have 4x Smart Grid Super Sampling.

      Refer to chapter 6 which describes this or any Dx10 fixer setup guide on e,g Dx10 How To guide from nzfsim.

  16. Grzegorz Rusinek says:

    Hello. How can I get lost link to download the update?

  17. evpyrev says:

    Hello. How can I get lost link to download the update?

  18. Jack says:

    Hi Steve,
    I just recommended your fixer to someone at a forum and find out there is a update, however I have no idea where my download link is. Could you send it to me please?

Leave a Reply

