Version 2.11

Version 2.11 of DX10 Scenery Fixer should be available shortly (i.e over the next few days).

Now before anyone asks – there wasn’t a 2.10 – I found that the installer truncated 2.10 to 2.1 so I decided that I would go from 2.9 to 2.11 to prevent complaints.

If you purchased from the FlightSimStore you can then just log on to your account and download it from there – – they have prepared the new wrapper but I don’t know exactly when it will go live.

If you purchased from FastSpring then the download link that you received by email when you purchased should now be valid again and allow you to download the new version. If you have lost your download link then send me an email to the yahoo email address and I will sort it out.

Changes are:

ASN High Level Clouds Squares

Many customers have reported black squares in the sky when using HiFi Active Sky Next and changing viewpoint.

There is a new High Clouds option

When the Fixer detects a corrupt texture it discards it. Feedback from beta testers is that this makes the problem much less visible, rather than a black square the high level clouds briefly disappear.

Effect Change Detection

Previously the fixer would detect when scenery added new effects but would miss if a scenery update replaced an existing effect with a new version. The check is now more sophisticated and should pick up any change to effect files.

Toolbox Bulk Conversions

The toolbox now supports bulk 8 Bit conversions – if the new Include Sub Directories option s selected then the fixer will scan a directory tree carrying out conversions.

Tree Lighting

This is a new option in the Other Dialog

When the sun is low in the sky this will darken trees that are backlit by the sun compared with those that are not.

Apron Lighting In Fog

I was contacted about some Aerosoft airports when in fog the apron lighting was still visible at a distance. In at least some cases e.g Erfurt this should be fixed.

Limit Terrain Detail

It came to my intention that customers reporting shimmering terrain were using a detail (aka grass texture) that was not mipmapped. In DX10 this appeared very badly. The diagnostics button will now warn if this may be an issue.

Looking into these detail textures more generally I have added an option to limit the range at which the detail texture is applied. This option is in the Other Dialog

If the option is selected then this will fade out the detail texture with distance. This should eliminate the grainy appearance seen when using a detailed grass texture and also prevent the grid effect when flying over snow.

Distant Shadow “Fix”

This has been removed as it caused more problems than it solved. I suggest that you change the tower camera clipplanes setting instead.

About stevefsx

I don't use FSX that much. But I am very annoyed when it doesn't work properly!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

123 Responses to Version 2.11

  1. KEITH ANDREWS says:

    Hi Steve, have you considered turning your attention to dx11 and p3d v3? I think there is a market there for you just like FSUIPC.

    Thanks

    Keith Andrews

    >

  2. Daniel says:

    Hi Steve, I installed the 2.11 and now I’m getting “BE AWARE! Non standard scenery\world\texture\detail1.bmp – if this doesn’t have mipmaps terrain will badly shimmer/look grainy.” in the Diagnostics window. I’m positively sure it wasn’t an issue with 2.9. What is the reason and how to fix it?

    Thanks In advance
    Daniel

    • stevefsx says:

      Its a new check. It’s simply telling you to be aware you have a non standard detail1.bmp. This is the so called “grass texture”. It’s not even a warning. Provided the person who created it built it with mipmaps then all is well.

      There are a few grass textures on the web that aren’t mipmapped and cause very bad shimmering problems in dx10 leading in some cases to people going back to dx9.

      • Daniel says:

        Thanks for quick response. In terms on non-standard scenery, I’m only using ORBX Pacific Northwest, Central Rocky Mountains and REX4 so I assume they did it right. Anyway I don’t have any shimmering problems. Cheers

  3. Paul Bird says:

    Hi Steve,
    I have just attempted to install version 2.11 down loaded from FSS but it locked up.
    I followed their instructions i.e.uninstalled the effects and removed DX10 using the control panel.
    I have now reinstalled version 2.9 which worked ok.
    Hope you have a solution again.
    Kindest regards
    Paul

    • stevefsx says:

      I am not aware of any issues, can I suggest that you download it again and try again. There is no need to uninstall the previous version you can just install the new version and then update the libraries. If it fails can you tell me where exactly – the wrapper is provided by the Flight Sim Store not by me.

      • Paul Bird says:

        Hi Steve,
        Thank you for our quick response.
        Having reinstalled version 2.9 I reinstalled the downloaded program from this morning and it worked fine. I should not have followed the installation instructions from FSS.
        All is now working fine and thanks again for your help.
        Kindest regards
        Paul

  4. daniel says:

    Hi Steve,
    I installed version 2.8 bought the day 05/31/2015 at FastSpring, now I downloaded version 2.11 but when I want to install it appears this message ..Another installation is in progress.You must complete that installation before continuing this one..and after I have to close the installer.
    I have to uninstall the version 2.8? I was thinking of installing 2.11 and simply refresh the library
    can you help me?
    Thanks

    • stevefsx says:

      Windows can only install one program at once.

      So the installer error means that Windows is installing something else. Either the installation of something else has hung or Windows update is busy. The best thing to do is reboot and try again.

  5. Sergio D. says:

    Hi Steve, Thanks for this great software Cant’ enjoy fsx without it believe me.
    It’s been mention that Distant Shadow “Fix” has been removed and you would suggest to change the tower camera clipplanes setting instead. How do we do that?
    Thank you very Much in advance
    Sergio D. Salamanca

  6. Nick says:

    Hi Steve,only a couple of questions for you:
    Although I have an AMD GPU (Sapphire R9 280X Toxic) I experienced artifacts only once over Aerosoft’s Thessaloniki X running FSX in DX10.However I went through serious tweaking in my FSX.cfg according to this https://kostasfsworld.wordpress.com/fsx-software-and-hardware-guide/ and since then I experienced no artifacts at all,seemingly everything concerning this issue is o.k. now.I have all sliders maxed out (including water effects) and everything is running smoothly without stressing considerably my system.What bothers me when running in DX10 is something like a “hesitation” occurring sometimes in loading certain graphics (mostly airport buildings) during sudden view changes (snap) towards them.Also there are several cases where scenery graphics (ground/water) appear to be missing for a couple of seconds where I see a grey area with Microsoft’s FSX logo on them!Same thing happens when I switch from external to virtual cockpit view,my panel and everything takes couple of secs to appear correctly.Also it takes some seconds for lights graphics to load and instead of the light glow I get a white square in its place.Do you thing your DX10 fixer will solve my issues?And if yes,from where can I purchase the newest 2.11 version?
    Many thanks in advance and congratulations for your magnificent work!

    • stevefsx says:

      Two things to check – is texture max load set correctly and also are you using 32 bit water textures – uncompressed texture can be a little slow to load if the system is short of CPU. Rolling the AI slider back a little may help too.

      The DX10 fixer will not change texture loading so I would focus on getting that to an acceptable level first. The only change that the fixer makes is to replace the blue texture with the logo with a grey texture which is less obtrusive.

      If you can do that then you can buy it from the purchase link on this page.

  7. mike N404 says:

    This is absolutely working perfect.
    I am so grateful for extending Life of FSX.
    Everything is working flawlessly and your customer support is second to none.
    All we need is cloud shadows (:D)
    thank you again
    mike

  8. stevefsx says:

    The shadows continue until about 8-10 minutes into dusk – although towards the end they are very faint. The sun hasn’t fully set at this point. This cannot be changed.

  9. mike N404 says:

    Black square high-level cloud problem fix is working quite well for me.
    I was pooling my hairs trying to reduce the graphics and do a kinds of tricks but nothing worked.
    Installing updates to your fixer is like opening surprise Christmas present.
    Thank you again
    mike

  10. daniel says:

    Thank’s Steve Your program has dramatically improved my simulator , following the advice of the manual I did get my crossfire ( 2 HD7950 ) and get 51 fps with Orbx global , vector , openLC europe and rex4 ..

  11. Daz says:

    Hello Steve, i have a question re bufferpools for the fixer, I understand that the steam edition handles this automatically but would you recommend me having a bufferpools entry at all for the boxed edition ( am running i7 4770k with 2Gb GTX 770)

  12. Daz says:

    Hi Steve

    I have a question re bufferpools and the fixer, i have been running on Steam edition and have been very impressed so much so that am thinking about ditching Dx9 on my flight rig and going DX10 route.

    I understand that Steam edition automatically handles bufferpools, would you recommend I set one in my boxed edition as at the moment I dont have one ( am running i7 4770k 4GHz with GTX 770 2gb)

    many thanks

  13. Alex says:

    Hi Steve,
    I purchased from FastSpring about 1 year ago. I lost the email with the download link. To which yahoo address should I send the email?

  14. Ryadh Moussaoui says:

    Hi Steve
    I project to buy a new desktop for my fsx cockpit:
    -i7 4790
    -Mother card AZUS z87
    -8 go
    -GTX 780
    – FSX acceleration, REX4 texture direct with soft cloud, FSGRW
    For the view:
    – 1 50 inch (front view)
    – 2 32 inch (surround NVIDIA) (left & right view)
    My questions:
    1- Is DX10 fixer scennery increase fps compared when use dx9?
    2- Do i have the same resolutions for my 3 screens.
    3- Do i install first DX10 scennery fixer and then install all the addons (REX4 , etc…)?
    4- I attend to use the DVI of my mother board for lcd screen for gps, is it possible?
    5- I have read many posts about the DX10 shaders, do i install it before DX10 scennery fixer or DX10 scennery fixer is sufficient?

    Thanks

    • stevefsx says:

      I would suggest you first try in dx10 preview. The fixer doesnt improve performance over default dx10 preview. That will tell you the difference in fps, some people see an improvement others do not. For configuration when testing best to read the dx10 how to guide from nzfsim (Google) which will tell you about multiple monitors , resolution and vsync the latter being the issue that. You may have there. You can only in my experience use one GPU with fsx in dx10 although I did hear of one guy who claimed to have 2 working.

      If at the end of that you decide dx10 is for you and buy the fixer then the installation order really doesn’t matter. You don’t need the dx10 shader patches, the fixer applies the same or better fixes.

  15. Jamal Nadeem says:

    Hello Steve,

    I’ve installed version 2.11 .. and I’m facing this annoying grey tiles all over the ground and water when using (Active Sky Next) as it shows in the attached PIC.

    Any solutions?

    Kind Regards

    Jamal

  16. Jamal Nadeem says:

    I’ve done that .. But how i suppose get the result of missing textures?

    • stevefsx says:

      If there was one missing you would see a pop up when viewing the fog. Turn it off when you have finished as it very annoying to get a popup as you approach an airport.

      I think your best bet is to ask HiFi. I have tried a couple of flights and haven’t seen anything and no one has mentioned it as a specific dx10 issue before.

      If they say it’s a dx10 issue come back and I will see if I can reproduce it with you.

      • Jamal Nadeem says:

        Ok Steve I’ll do that and will get back to you 🙂

      • jamalnnd says:

        Hi Steve,

        I saw some one reported similar problem in HIFI forum and the answer was ASN has nothing to do with this .. it’s DX10 issue!

        Anyway I post mine but nothing form their side until now.

        BTW I’ve tried with Opus Live Weather as well and same issue occur.

        Jamal

      • stevefsx says:

        Is there a particular place and historic date and time that you see it? Does it not occur in dx9? What ASN settings do you use for ground fog?

  17. Jamal Nadeem says:

    It’s all over the places.. No particular place Steve.. And in DX9 things works perfectly I’ve never noticed such issue.

    I’m using ASN default settings.

    Jamal

  18. stevefsx says:

    I have tried another dozen flights. Can you tell me a time and a place (lat long) an aircraft type – default Maule preferably – which exact camera was used , the zoom level etc, which direction relative to the aircraft, the altitude etc.

  19. ikarus2558 Alfred Gruetzner says:

    Hi Steve,
    How to make the fix find the the new path to my newly installed FSX (had to reinstall the FSX on an other HD due to errors – but not DX10fix errors!!) Flusifix knows the new path but not the fix.
    Brgs and happy NewYear!
    Alfred

  20. larsullmann1 says:

    Hi Steve,

    I bought your Tool but while cleaning my computer , i lost the email.
    It would be nice if you could help me.

    Lars

  21. mpilotblog says:

    Hi Steve, first thank you for this tool, it helps a lot! But I need some help too…first, my config: i7 4790k stock clock, gtx980 strix, corsair force3 ssd, 20gb kingston ram, win 7-64 ultimate, FSX SE, ftx global, vector, open LC europe, trees HD, REX4 + soft clouds and the fixer! The BP are set to 0, the game is smooth, but I’ve got problems with some effects, in particular the afterburners long exhaust flames in certain planes, not on all, but on my favs, I ve also converted the 8bit textures with fixer and same for all fx, I’ve also bought the last versions of some planes like the Virtavia/AS b1b and the Glowingheat/AS SR-71, well once installed i’ve took a quick flight, without running the fixer, and the fx were in, long afterburners plumes, than I’ve ran the fixer, ask to convert, pressd OK and…effects lost! Ok i know there s a problem when they disappear at certain camera angles, but now they’re gone, same for the A2A b377 smoke fx. IS there a fix around to have em back? Then second small issue regarding flying in winter season, so if I select a flight in winter, it doesn t matter where, a big city with snow textures on or not or in the middle of a desert, fps loss, less but a loss, If I select the same locations in the other three seasons…fps gain! Hope you can help me, expecially for the afterburner fx, I don t want to going back to dx9!

  22. Eugene Pyrev says:

    Hi Steve! Thanks for Your great software, it helps a lot! And I have a question – Why the value “High Mem Fix” in Internal Procissing (from FSX CFG Settings) is not Active? I can’t change this value ;( And, if I manually correct the “HIGHMEMFIX=0 to HIGHMEMFIX=1” in my fsx.CFG (C:\Users\Eugene\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\FSX) then after flight this value changes to “HIGHMEMFIX=0” independently. All installations makes according “DX10 How To.pdf” (Version 1.08a, 10 December 2014). My config is: Window 10 Pro x 64, i7-4790K@4400, HT on, RAM 16Gb, GTX780Ti Matrix Platinum, MB ASUS Z87Deluxe. I have use only FSX:SE (along), FSUIPC, DX10 Scenery Fixer, ASN, REX 4Texture Direct Configuration Tool, VFXCentral, PMDG737NGX.
    Today I reinstall Your application (DX10SceneryFixer_2_11_77), and checked the High Mem Fix (before PMDG installation) – but the same story (((. Maybe there are any tricks? Please help me with this.
    Yours faithfully.

  23. Eugene Pyrev says:

    You have calmed me, thanks for your help.

  24. FSX_Lover says:

    Hi Steve,

    Still loving FSX Retail and Steam, I am really grateful for your work!

    I’d like to use the new feature to scan FSX directories for 8-bit textures (not sure if I have any or not at the moment and want to check to be sure)

    Can I pull the “ImageTool.exe” from the Acceleration installer by itself (just the EXE) or do I have to spend a bunch of time installing the retail SDK, then SP1 SDK, then SP2 SDK, then Acceleration SDK?

    Thanks again Steve!

  25. Hi Steve

    Hope you can help me with something that i have noticed when using the fixer with FSX Steam edition, When i fly through clouds i am getting a bright line around the edge of my screen , this only appears when using DX10 as its fine in dx 9

    I initally thought this was Active Sky Next but it also seems to do using the default stormy weather too
    [img]http://fsfiles.org/flightsimshotsv2/images/2016/02/01/pic1.jpg[/img]

  26. Tom says:

    I have version 2.3 and I want to update but I have no clue where I purchased the software. I do have a file saved with my license or key but cannot find where to download the v2.11

  27. Florian says:

    Hello Steve,

    i lost my mail from fastspring. Did only backup my serial key and the zip file. Can you help me please?

  28. ikarus2558 says:

    Hi,
    So far DX10fix 2.11.75 worked very fine, but I had to reinstall the FSX due to constant CTDs. Now I reinstalled the fix again, but have a problem with the path to the FSX. How can I insert it? There seem to be no way to do that (the button CHANGE is grey and can not be used)
    Thanks for help and best regards

    Alfred

  29. Stuart Pipe says:

    Hi Steve,

    I am getting these grass textured stars similar to the black stars and I do not know how to have them corrected. I can send you a picture of them if you’d like.

    Kind regards,

    Stuart

  30. JOEL says:

    Bonjour,
    Est-ce que la Version 2.11 of DX10 Scenery Fixer est compatible avec windows10
    Cordialement

  31. Steve Glinel says:

    Hello,
    I have an issue with the shadows in the PMDG 777.
    It seems that the NAV display doesn’t take the shadows and remains more illuminated than the others display.
    I’ve tried to find different solutions with no sucess.

    Best regards

  32. Ahmad Rez says:

    Hi Steve. I’ve bought from your site senery fixer 2.11 but not send email for me. Please follow up.Thank you

  33. Anayatul Bari says:

    Hi Steve,
    I’ve originally bought the V2.9 and need to upgrade it to 2.11 The original email I used for purchase is no longer valid so please give me your email so that I can send you the order details for verification and get an upgrade link. Thanks

  34. Casey Fallen says:

    Hi Steve,
    I am having a strange Windows 10 issue with FSX.
    After upgrading to Windows 10, I can no longer run FSX with the DX10 ticked. Unticked, it loads right up with no issue. When I do have it on and ticked it will go to the loading box, however the Loading indication box is missing. S it is just a big black sceen. Shortly after it crashes. So the sim never loads up or shows. I tried reinstalling C++ and I also reinstalled Flash 9 to no avail. I Tried deleting the .FSX.cfg This had no effect.

    Any suggestions? Have you seen issue with Windows 10 and FSX Preview?

    Thanks!

    • stevefsx says:

      strangely I have seen a couple of people with this same issue of late. If you look on the DTG FAQ for FSX:SE there are also people who have the same problem running FSX SE in DX9 on windows 10 but it works on DX10. What Nvidia version do you have? When it crashes where is the problem reported in event viewer? Looking in the Shader Cache how many shaders have been rebuilt?

  35. Casey Fallen says:

    Yes! I noticed the same phenomenon! Many are getting the opposite effect.
    I am using the latest AMD Beta Driver. (Driver Packaging Version
    16.15.2211.1001-160403a-301124E) I should note that I was using the non-Beta version and noticed the same issue before the Beta update. I am VERY suspect of the driver being the cause.
    Other Driver info:
    2D Driver Version
    8.1.1.1546
    Direct3D® Version
    9.14.10.1183
    OpenGL® Version
    6.14.10.13431
    OpenCL™ Version
    2.0.6.0

    When it crashes I get this error in Admin events: Faulting application name: RadeonSettings.exe, version: 10.1.1.1622, time stamp: 0x5701e5ac
    Faulting module name: atidxx64.dll, version: 8.17.10.661, time stamp: 0x5701c7d5
    Exception code: 0xc0000005
    Fault offset: 0x000000000055132f
    Faulting process id: 0x21a4
    Faulting application start time: 0x01d19b7e387df3c3
    Faulting application path: C:\Program Files\AMD\CNext\CNext\RadeonSettings.exe
    Faulting module path: C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\atidxx64.dll
    Report Id: bc0a7bff-f4f1-488d-b30b-32cb8d84df6b
    Faulting package full name:
    Faulting package-relative application ID:

    I will only get a “Pop up” crash report about half the time. I did notice it said something about C++. I have seen it in a while. I was thinking maybe I should reinstall it one more time?

    I don’t know how to get into the shader Cache. If you guide me, I will check it out.

    Thank you so much for this help! You have no idea how many hours of happiness your program has brought me!

    • stevefsx says:

      Well,that certainly failed in the Radeon code. Error 5 is access denied, I think it could be a bad memory access so code fault or no access to a file. With a name like Radeon settings I do wonder about a settings file?? What happens if you run fsx as administrator?

  36. Casey Fallen says:

    It always runs as administrator, as I have it set the UAC to avoid the annoying popups.
    The only thing that was done to my computer that is different from the change from Windows 7 to 10 was the Primary Partition had to extended the to hold Windows 10, as it said all the space was taken by a virus program or the like. I wonder if that had some part of FSX it and got closed off to the program when I made the change. I did see this article about Orbx causing people to not be able to upgrade to windows 10.

    http://www.prepar3d.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=112580

    Other than this, I’m lost as to this cause.

  37. faisal says:

    I purchased the product SteveFX – DX10 Scenery Fixer but I lost the download link
    And kindly send download link back to my email and thank you Steve.

  38. faisal says:

    There is a problem, after activating DX10 in FSX
    It does not impact NVIDIA GTX770 and Intel appears only display card
    What’s the solution ?

    • stevefsx says:

      There are two separate things what the fixer show in its gui just for AA settings in fsx.cfg and what fsx is using.

      My first question is therefore is the internal Intel processor gpu enabled in bios and do you need it enabled?

      Does fsx run ok in dx10 preview? It won’t normally run if there are two active GPUs

  39. Casey Fallen says:

    Steve, I have one more update. I just got the error message. I’m hoping it may mean something to you and maybe give a clue on what I should try next?

    Error message says:
    C++ Runtime Error
    Then it says: Program: I… <—I assume this is just pointing to where I have FSX installed

    Then it gives code R6025
    -Pure virtual function call

    I hope the above can give you a clue on what I should do to get DX10 working again. Thanks!

  40. Руслан Удников says:
  41. Ludovic Arimbo says:

    Hello, do you know what to do to prevent terrain intersection with low lvl clouds using Dx10 ? I have the popping clouds issue and i can’t use the “bool NewMaterialUsage = false;” since the fix is for Dx9. Thx

    • stevefsx says:

      The NewMaterialUsage fix deals with clouds that flash because the texture isn’t available for an instant e,g when ASN changes the cloud texture. In DX10 this flash appears as a black or white square – the various rain and cloud Missing Texture fixes address these issues.

      There are other cloud issues in FSX which cannot be fixed – some of these may sound like the same problem but they aren’t.

      1) popping – this occurs when flying near clouds when a cloud suddenly appears in front of another cloud. This occurs in DX9 and Dx10 and there is no fix – since this is a rare and difficult to reproduce occurrence it is prone to confusion about whether some change has fixed it . This occurs when the core changes the sort order and has nothing to do with shader settings. If you download Kosta’s CloudTest from his blog – find the Titan review then you can watch the white cloud to the left of the aircraft pop in and out between 15-25secs into flight. It occurs in DX9 and DX10 and there is no fix.

      2) ground intersection – if a low level cloud intersects the ground at an angle then there is a very distinct and visible boundary line – the cloud is drawn like a playing card and you can see where the card meets the hill. This occurs in DX9 and DX10 and there is no fix.

      3) ground intersection z fighting – if the playing card when angled towards the aircraft aligns almost exactly with the surface then you may see z fighting – (flickering)
      This occurs in DX9 and DX10 and there is no fix

      4) distant z fighting – if there are distant mountains and clouds at the same level and same distance then it is possible because of depth inaccuracy for these clouds to flash or flicker as the GPU cannot decide whether they are in front of or behind the mountain. This occurs in DX9 and DX10 and there is no fix

      • Ludovic Arimbo says:

        thanks for that complete answer. One last question : I have some white squares flashing that appears over the water/sea (like when a scene is loading). I wonder why some water square have to load… Anyway I tried differents nvidia inspector/video game settings, changed the bufferpool option, etc. But they are still here randomly (Im using Rex4 for my water textures). Is there a way to fix it (maybe with dx10sf settings) or should i deal with ?

  42. ikarus2558 says:

    Hi Steve,

    A general question: Is it necessary to install regularly the newest version. Quite a time I use 2.11.77.1 and the fix works perfectly.

    Tks a 1001 times for your excellent tool.
    Alfred

  43. to30 says:

    I have a big problem, I’ve removed the e-mail order confirmation. I have a License Name and License Number, I just need the installation file.
    Please help

  44. Daniel Badcock says:

    Hi Steve,

    I bought this a while back, I believe I have 2.7?! I have recently installed fsx:se and have reinstalled to realise that we have 2.11 available… I no longer have the email, would you be able to look into this for me? If I bought this using my old email let me know,
    Thanks
    Dan

  45. Tomasz Zajac says:

    I bought my DX10 from fastspring and my version is 2.7.Can i get new download links?

  46. Vsync and road traffic

    I’ve noticed that if I use the optimal DX10 settings as per the DX10 “How to” guide for my GTX 970 (1/2 refresh rate and 30.5 fps), I get flashing, colorful artifacts when I encounter a larger cluster of cars, usually at large traffic intersections. If I choose “force on” for vsync, the issue completely disappears, but I also lose the ultra-smooth frame rates I have with the “1/2 refresh rate” setting. Is this a known issue, and if it is, is there another work-around for it? Thanks!

    • stevefsx says:

      Sorry I have never heard of an issue like this. Could it be power or heat related?

      • With my setup, it’s highly doubtful that it is power/heat related. I can have all other AI at 100% (and with WOAI or UT2, that’s quite a lot), but it only occurs with road vehicles. I also have FTX Global/Vector. Might it have to do with the design of their highway intersections? I can greatly minimize the issue if I keep road vehicles below 35%.

      • OK, it’s not the FTX Global/Vector roads. I can duplicate it with the default highway intersections as well. One way I tested it was to go into “Top-Down” view over a highway cloverleaf. There seems to be a “sweet spot” where the artifacts appear. If you are zoomed very close or very far, they are not present. They occur somewhere in between.

  47. Understood. I have also discovered that some virtual cockpits in planes from 3rd party vendors can experience similar artifacts with the “1/2 refresh rate and 30.5 fps” set in the Nvidia inspector. Forcing vsync ON also fixes those artifacts. Having found a workaround for now, I’ll keep an eye on it and let you know if I find another way around it.

  48. As a test, I went into the nvidiaInspector and loaded the optimal settings I’d been using under DX9, and all the artifacts disappeared across the board! That said, the “DX10 ‘How to’ guide” recommendations for DX10 are obviously not a “one size fits all” solution! 😉 With 2014 being the last update to the guide, there certainly have been numerous driver updates that may negate some of the tweaks. Now to the onerous task of changing the DX9 settings one-by-one until I find the fly in the ointment with the DX10 setup. But at least we now know the issue is somewhere in the nvidiaInspector configuration! Thanks.

Leave a Reply

