Version 2.7

The version available from the purchase page on this site is 2.7.

This is identical to 2.6 except that it can now better handle the scenario where FSX Steam Edition (SE) and FSX are installed on the same computer at the same time. With 2.7 the libraries can be switched from one system to another and the correct FSX configuration file is used.

If you have a system with just FSX installed or just Steam Edition installed there is no advantage to 2.7 over 2.6 – they both work equally well.

You should receive an update email from the Flight Sim Store shortly

 

 

 

 

 

 

About stevefsx

I don't use FSX that much. But I am very annoyed when it doesn't work properly!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Version 2.7

  1. David says:

    Okay Steve I have gotten V2.6 and was forced in to getting fsx se and now i’d like to get V2.7 so i can run fsx Dx10 how do i go about getting the downloader for V2.7?

  2. David says:

    Well I bought it from this site…

  3. David says:

    Um wonder why it don’t work with SE then? I’ll uninstall it and retry it agine then and will let you know

    • stevefsx says:

      You need to uninstall the libraries, change the path the FSX:SE directory then install the libraries. The reverse when you switch back. It does not support having the libraries installed in both at the same time.

  4. David says:

    Okay you’re right it is V2.7 now after I install it, I get a pop up that says Legacy Issue: The bkg.bmp in your fsx directory has been modified. This will disable the legacy shader fixes. Please reinstall DX10 Scenery fixer. I have done that twice now not sure where to go with this?

    • stevefsx says:

      David can you send me an email to the stevefsx email address

      Can you describe what you did exactly?
      Did you uninstall the libraries before uninstalling DX10SF as per uninstall process?
      Which system are you trying to use now?
      Uninstall the libraries and reinstall.

  5. David says:

    Okay after reading your reply i did uninstall the libraries and uninstalled dx10 and reinstalled everthing now its working great, thank you I guess i should stop being lazy and read the manual sorry for the dumb questions…And thank you for all of your kind help and making such an awesome product!

    • stevefsx says:

      David its ok – the error message you got was misleading. I have corrected it in the next version based on your report. Glad its working now and sorry for the issues.

  6. David says:

    No need to be sorry I’m just glad to have it up and running b4 spring break i drive a school bus so yes 1 week off so only 2 days to go plan on doing some long haul flights agine thank you Steve 🙂

  7. Afterburner says:

    Hi Steve! I purchased your DX10 fixer a while ago, and after reinstalling Windows7 and FSX completely, I was wondering whether I need Nvidia Inspector to get full benefits of Anti Aliasing. I noticed that AA works without the Inspector, but the manual instructs to use it for certain combinations. FYI: I don’t run SGSS, instead only 8xMSAA. I am asking because I only use the Inspector for FSX, and if I have no need for it through DX10 fixer, I am not planning to install it.

  8. Jonathan says:

    Hi Steve! Really pleased with your product, and how it is evolving over time. I have a quick question re virtual cockpit shadows and the Carenado C152: when using the virtual cockpit view, all objects appear to receive shadows, except the radio “gauge/panel” which therefore stands out. I was wondering if there was a specific cause/fix for this?

    • stevefsx says:

      Hi Jonathon,

      that will be a setting in the model, you can try the legacy force shadows setting but that causes many side effects so I don’t really recommend it.

  9. Mike says:

    Hello Steve, I’m new to running my FSX in DX10 mode. I am making the switch due to many OOM shutdowns. No OOM’s in DX10 but I have issues with those little black boxed shapes in my scenery that everyone is talking about. My scenery add-ons are ORBX Global Base, Vector and FS Global Mesh 2010. Will your fix v2.7 address this issue and be compatible with my add-ons. I hope to be making my change to DX10 permanent. I am also wondering, since I am running a high end AMD GPU, if I need to install the “RadionPro“ software to get the most optimized settings or will the AMD CCC software do?
    Thank you in advance.

    • stevefsx says:

      Mike
      Yes it fixes the FTX Global Lights ( which otherwise appear black in the day in DX10 mode).

      I would raise a slight caution over your GPU though. I always recommend a Nvidia GPU for DX10. This is because in late 2012 AMD introduced a driver which interacts badly with FSX in DX10 mode when using any GPU more modern than the 6900. The problem causes artefacts (scenery spikes).

      The solutions are
      1. Buy a Nvidia GPU
      2. revert to an old AMD driver (if it supports your GPU) so 12.4 is known to be fine.

      As a workaround if these aren’t possible
      Make sure that AA is never set to more than 4x and the FSX water slider is never set to more than 2.x Low

      Now many people get on ok with AMD GPUs and the workaround but others still report occasional artefacts.

      I would suggest therefore that before purchase you test FSX in DX10 mode (ignoring the black boxes) with some extended flights and see how it works for you.

      • Mike says:

        Thanks for your advice Steve. I purchased and have been using your fix for a few weeks now. I followed your suggested AA and water settings without having much of an issue so far. I was using the AMD 12.4 driver with my Radeon R9-280 card but now upgraded to 14.4 due to eyefinity issues not recognising all 3 monitors. I don’t really see the scenery spikes you mentioned but I haven’t done any long flights. Overall I am very pleased with your product.

      • stevefsx says:

        Great to hear that Mike.

  10. I need help! after trying every free DX10 I could find, I’ve pruchased and install your DX10 fixer, but I can’t get it to work, I always get the fxs.bmp error in opening, I’ve checked the manual for explanation then follow its intructions on checking if bmp’s changed to dds whatsoever… they didn’t!
    I’ve uninstalled FSX then DX10 fix and reainstalled it again… I’m always getting this freaking error… please help!

    • stevefsx says:

      It may be a permissions error, can you describe the exact error all it does is copy fx_2.bmp in effects\textures. Best to send an email to the support email address with your order number and exact error.

  11. Edward says:

    Steve, I would like to thank you for creating something marvelous that makes my dear 9 year old FSX Deluxe Edition boxed copy sexy and gorgeous running in Directx 10 mode. It also works in Steam Edition without any compatibility issues. You made a hot sexy speed bird out of my Captain Sim L1011! Sorry about my immaturity. Anyway, I’m wondering if you’re aware that your fixer didn’t have a co-existence feature for FSX boxed copy and FSX Steam Edition, and I have to keep installing or uninstalling the libraries and changing the target path at every time I switch the copies back and forth.

    • stevefsx says:

      Thanks!

      Yes I am afraid that for the time being that you have to switch. No-one knew in advance how the Steam Edition would work and the mechanism that DX10SF used (a single data store per system) is a problem. I could fix it but then I would have data migration exercise for all existing customers to worry about.

  12. Manuel Sacramento says:

    Hi,
    I had buy recentlly your DX10 fixer (version 2.11), and a few time later i this error start to appear on diagnostics and i had uninstall and reinstall libraries, DX10, but the message continue appear.
    Can you help?

    Message:The bkg.bmp in your fsx directory has been modified. This will disable the legacy shader fixes. Uninstalll and reinstall libraries to fix.

    Thanks

  13. Rich LaShier says:

    Steve,
    Your DX10 Fixer has been applauded by many, so you know the field well.
    Is there a fix for the situation where the DX 10 preview check box does not appear in FSX on the settings/graphics page? I have an installation of FSX/Acceleration running on Windows 7/64 bit, on a system with an Nvidia GEForce GTX 770 video card. Acceleration should have installed the DX 10 content, and my video card is clearly capable of running DX 11 easily, let alone DX 10. Why would the DX 10 preview not appear in my setup?

    Please e-mail me at rlashiersr@msn.com if you have any tips on this issue.

    Thanks,
    Rich

Leave a Reply

