Version 2.0 available

The main feature is the handling of many of the transparency issues that cause effects like square shadows under aircraft and solid 3d grass..

About stevefsx

I don't use FSX that much. But I am very annoyed when it doesn't work properly!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Version 2.0 available

  1. Alex says:

    SweetFX injection – what does it mean and how to make it with 2.0 version? Thinking of buying it..

  2. Gordon says:

    Steve,
    I don’t see the lights at all from any distance or any angle of the scenery (Skiathos or Mykonos)
    I’m using fixer v2.0 build 42
    Airport lighting all seems fine, I have runway and taxiway lights all ok.

    • stevefsx says:

      I don’t have anything to suggest then, as a next step can you post on the dx10 discussions forum on avsim and see if anyone has anything to suggest, otherwise I guess I will see about buying it.

  3. Gordon says:

    Does anyone have any settings that enable the scenery night lighting on Aerosofts Skiathos and Mykonos?

    Thanks

    • stevefsx says:

      In what way are they not working? Are you referring to the terminal buildings or the runway lights?

      • Gordon says:

        Sorry, should’ve been more specific – its the “3D Night Lighting” that covers the entire islands
        As per this screenshot –

        Works just fine under DX9 on my FSX but no joy with DX10 and fixer

      • stevefsx says:

        ok do you see anything at all of the lights do they come on at certain angles or nothing? Are you using v2.0 of the fixer? Are the airport lights ok and have you installed the light field for the airport?

  4. Richard says:

    Is there a changelog for version 2 that I could read before installing the new version?

    One thing I’m particularly interested in is I read you have been working on a new method allowing v/c shadows also in aircraft such as the NGX.

    If that’s true it would be nothing short of amazing!

  5. Adam Banks says:

    This isn’t specifically v2.0 … but of all the tweaks in the Fixer, the most innocuous but one of the most dramatic is the rain colour slider. At a stroke, it makes going through rain look so much more realistic. The rain in DX9 was always a bit “cheesy”, but knocking it back to around 80% tones it down to a very pleasing effect (instead of irritating!). This is a good example of the Fixer not just “fixing”, but actually *adding* something to FSX. Keep taking the tablets, Steve!

  6. Frank Schuster says:

    Hello all,
    I now download the new V2.0 and have one question. Is it necessary to deinstall the old version first or work it also when I put the new version on top of the older version?

    Please help.

    Greetings Frank

    • stevefsx says:

      Yes you uninstall the old one, by 1 uninstall libraries, then uninstall the product from control panel, then install the new version.

      • Adam Banks says:

        That’s what I do – but before doing so, I note down all my settings (in a text file) as a reinstall in this way seems to wipe most of your old profile/settings. I’ve arrived at some water reflectivity settings that took a while to set up/test, so I’m always keen not to lose those. As functions get added fairly frequently (thanks!!), I can’t see newer versions being able to use old profile settings . My manual/text method doesn’t take long and can easily be edited as and when new functions become available.

        Adam.

      • stevefsx says:

        Slightly Unfortunately the fss uninstaller removes the default directory containing profiles. However if you save a profile elsewhere before the update you can upload it into a new version, I am careful to ensure that this is possible, even when I change the dialog.

        The manual describes all of this … But you cannot read it until after the update….

    • stevefsx says:

      I have added a new post with instructions.

  7. Adam Banks says:

    Thanks for v.2.0 Steve. It just gets better and better! One request: In the “Water Shader” options, can the “Disable distant land reflections” be made to accept different values (via a slider)? It’s a great idea, but I find 1 mile just too close. I’d love to be able to set it to 2nm or 5nm. Losing them at greater distances is a blessing, as that I always found them totally unrealistic – you just don’t see them in RL.

  8. Robert Halmich says:

    Hi Steve,Thank for another update. One issue that I see with these updates is that one does not know which version they are downloading or installing until the fiixer is installed and only then can one verify which version they are using. Is there any chance that you could have FSS label the download or the installer with the version number that is currently uploaded?

    Thanks,

    Robert

    • stevefsx says:

      No they don’t seem able to do that, but I post here when I know the new version is available, and they update the version on the Product description on their web site so you can check which version you are about to download

      • stevefsx says:

        What are your screen dimensions and how short is it in % terms?

      • Adam Banks says:

        Hi Steve – the problem with this is that they often don’t change the description when it’s a minor version upgrade. I just make a habit of re-downloading regularly and date-stamping the filename when saving locally. Usually, it’s obvious if iot’s a newer version as the filesize is invariably different. BTW – there’s never any version number given on the file itself (visible in “properties”). This would help a lot as well.

      • stevefsx says:

        I promise you since 1.3 I get them to update the description every time the download changes – there just haven’t been any minor releases since then

        I cannot change anything I sent them the directory structure and they create the installer exe.

      • Adam Banks says:

        Aaah … OK then Steve (thanks). Maybe they could be persuaded to at least stamp the version number into the installer exe properties when they create it . I can understand the logic of keeping the filename itself the same – as it may be a requirement of some security and/or downkoaling mechanism.

    • Robert Halmich says:

      Okay, thanks for he reply Steve. I forgot to ask, My night water texture’s consist of green and blue squares laid on a tile which appears to be approx. 1000 meters x 1000 meters in FSX. I updated Orbx FTX Global the other day and the night water textures appear to be the only on affected. I will try to located the texture file and see if it can be repaired. Have you any insight into this issue?

      Thanks,

      RObert

      • stevefsx says:

        There is no night water texture as such. There is a just a greenish water texture which is adjusted to match the lighting conditions. What does it look like in DX9 it uses the same texture.

Comments are closed.