Version 1.4

Version 1.4 Build 35 is now available for download.

It has the following highlights.

Adjusted Shadow Fade

Previously shadows faded rather sharply with the weather visibility. This is compounded because some weather engines rarely set the visibility over 10nm. The image on the left shows the original shadows with 20nm visibility. The change alters this so that shadow fading only starts as the visibility falls under 3nm. The image on the right shows the revised shadows with 20nm visibility.

Save and Restore Profiles

It is now possible to save and restore all the settings made to shaders. As well as assisting in the upgrade process, this allows using different profiles for legacy aircraft for example.

Extended Fogging of Lights

The fogging of FTX Global lights has been extended to cover all effect style lights

Fixes in 1.4

The option to avoid of black flashes in the rain shader was reversed in 1.3 . In 1.4 the text of the option has been reversed such that it make some sense.

There was a patch left enabled which caused issues with some buildings which appeared translucent.

The reflective bloom slider was not working.

About stevefsx

I don't use FSX that much. But I am very annoyed when it doesn't work properly!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to Version 1.4

  1. Dioniso says:

    Okay Thank you. Then I need “fsx sdk”, is it a freeware program? Where can I donwload it?

  2. Dioniso says:

    I couldn’t find them*

    • stevefsx says:

      It’s a compressed folder you need to expand it. LEST exists, but you need to create one for the other. There is a sample in the bgl directory, you need to fill in the lat and long of the airport where it is marked with an x and a y and then compile with bglcomp.exe – you need the fsx sdk to do this.

  3. Dioniso says:

    Hi,

    I tried to put dx10 lights in the sceneries of LEDA and LEST, but I could find the files in the folder: C:\Program Files (x86)\DX10SceneryFixer\bgl\airport fields.zip

    How can I create this two files to fix the problem?

    Thank you very much.

  4. CaseyFallen says:

    Hi Steve,

    I was able to uninstall the libraries, then reinstalled but only selected reflections. I then enabled the DX10 compatible lights. This made no difference.

    The only thing that went away was the blink with the nav lights when I turned off the fog options.

    I made a video to show the issue that still remains.

    Thanks again!

    Watch Video Here: http://youtu.be/d2XKgLSleEw

  5. Tomas says:

    Hi. Does anybody knows if DX10 is working correctly on Helsinki scenery by Aerosoft?
    I have problem with approach lights of each runway and landing lights of my NGX: they are not visible at all…

  6. CaseyFallen says:

    I will certainly try this and get back to you with the results. I have a busy week, so I will let you know what happened this coming weekend. Thank yo for the help.

  7. CaseyFallen says:

    The DX10 compatible light effect is set to enabled. I turn on everything you offer in the DX10 fixer and leave them in the default setting. Meaning I don’t mess with any of the sliders. Would it help if I film the phenomenon? I can make a video showing what my settings are and the way it looks in FSX.

    • stevefsx says:

      The only thing that has any effect on those lights is the compatible effects. Disable then enable and see what happens.

      • CaseyFallen says:

        Thanks. I will try this. I may film it and host with a link for you, if the phenomenon continues. So that you can have a look. But the blinking in unison with the aircraft Beacon light is for sure connected to the Fox settings. When I urn that option off the Blinking stops. Thanks again for all your hard work. You really have made FSX amazing!

      • stevefsx says:

        Try uninstalling the libraries, then reinstall but only select reflections. Finally enable dx10 compatible lights and tell me how it is.

      • stevefsx says:

        I am thinking perhaps the utx lights use one of the nav lights in the nav lights package so installing it may impact them

      • CaseyFallen says:

        Hi Steve,

        I was able to uninstall the libraries, then reinstalled but only selected reflections. I then enabled the DX10 compatible lights. This made no difference.

        The only thing that went away was the blink with the nav lights when I turned off the fog options.

        I made a video to show the issue that still remains.

        Thanks again!

        Watch Video Here: http://youtu.be/d2XKgLSleEw

  8. Alberto says:

    Hi Steve,
    not very important, but i noticed that “Slower Snow” in rain controller does not make any change.
    bye!

  9. Alberto says:

    Hi Steve!
    (Thanks for the jets vc shadow suggestion on the other post)

    I got problems with the lens flare effect, after going dx10 and your fixer.

    When i look directly to the Sun the flares flash/blink.
    I think I’ve tried everything is in my knowledge, (bloom off, AA off, highmemfix, usepools, … and many, MANY other try and trial) with no results.

    Do you have any kind of suggestion?

    Thanks so much!

  10. CaseyFallen says:

    No, I turned the effects off and it fixed the blinking that would happen with the beacon. BUT..They still will turn off when I turn my view to certain angles. So a different problem happens when they are turned off.

    • CaseyFallen says:

      By effects..you mean the Fog Visibility options correct? Everything thing else remains turned on. The Fog Visibility options seem to make the Ultimate Terrain X street lights blink in unison with them. But when turned off, the lights will still turn off as you look around. Seems like certain angles make them turn off.

  11. CaseyFallen says:

    Hi Steve, I am not sure if I installed something wrong with the new 1.4 or if maybe I am experiencing a flickering light issue that you’re already aware of? But I did not notice any flickering lights on version 1.1 -1.3. Now I get flickering street lights for the Ultimate Terrain X street lights when I am in fog/low cloud conditions. They appear to flicker with the aircraft beacon light. When I turn the aircrafts beacon off the street lights do not blink. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

    • stevefsx says:

      What happens if you turn off all the fog visibility options in general shader?

      • CaseyFallen says:

        Hi Steve,
        Thanks for the reply. So i went and disabled all three “Fog Visibility” options. The lights no longer blink with the beacon. But they do still disappear and reappear when I change my view direction in the 3D cockpit. But not flashing anymore with the aircraft beacon. It just seems that when I view them at certain angles they will turn off. I move my view just pinch and the reappear. I hope I am describing that correctly.

      • stevefsx says:

        Ok now do you have the effects enabled or not?

  12. Boaz says:

    Excuse me but where can I download this update?

    • stevefsx says:

      Just go to the flight sim store, log on to your account there and download it.

      • Boaz says:

        You mean the file? It didn’t look any different so I thought it was to be downloaded elsewhere.

        They simply update the download file I suppose?

      • stevefsx says:

        Yes that’s right.

        The version you are downloading can be checked by looking at the product description, they update that when a new version is put on the file servers.

  13. Daniel says:

    Hello,
    Did you check if World od AI models no longer appear white when using your DX10 fixer?
    Thanks,
    Daniel

    • stevefsx says:

      I haven’t tested, I think people have had some success (as I have been asked about lights got them ) but the best thing to do is to ask on the avsim dx10 discussions forum.

      • Daniel says:

        Thanks for your reply. I tested by myself. I installed a couple or airlines from World of AI. Models work fine so far. Even aircraft shadows appear correctly. This would not have been possible without your DX10 fixer.

  14. Bawin says:

    OK, thank you !

  15. Bawin says:

    Issue resolved !!!

  16. Alberto says:

    Hello Steve!

    I am very interested in your product, and i was planning to buy it so last night i tried to start fsx in dx10 so i modified the cfg with D3D10=1.
    Once the splash screen was up, the aircraft preview window was all black. And starting fsx it freezed.
    I also have noticed that setting D3D10 the application DID NOT HAD REBUILT the Shader10 folder… really odd.
    Do you have any suggestion, a part from clean reinstall 🙂 ?
    Thanks so much.

    • stevefsx says:

      It’s probably enb series look for dlls in your fsx directory and tell me what’s there. Also if you go to the avsim dx10 discussions forum the how to doc there mentions at least one troublesome dll and is a useful doc for you to read

  17. Bawin says:

    Merci, merci, merci !!!!!

    I am waiting this for, at least, ten years !!! Thank you !

    BugDani.

  18. Keinofj says:

    Steve thank you.
    Can you confirm that we should uninstall the library first than install the new version over the top of the previous? Thx

    • stevefsx says:

      There are instructions in the manual and in the blog post on nov5th, basically uninstall the libraries, then uninstall from control panel, then install the new version. Then install the libraries.

  19. fabrice S says:

    Hello Steve ,
    after installing the latest version , all ocean around the world stay in grey .
    maybe you have an idea to fix that ?
    thx
    Farice

    • stevefsx says:

      Strange, no one else has reported a problem. It sounds like your water shader is not compiling. Which version did you have previously? If you disable the water shader in DX10Controller and launch FSX does it work ok? Can you send me an email to the email address in the manual with results and we will take it from there.

      ( and sorry you are having problems.)

      • fabrice S says:

        Hello Steve,
        Late answer , but i found the solution of my problem, you help me when you say is a problem of water compilation ,
        I have made a redo of my old shader folder, then reinstall the last version.
        All work great now.
        Thx From belgium.

  20. Bob Y. says:

    Thank you Steve, for continuously working so hard to improve DX10 Fixer. Because of your program, I can now keep FSX in DX10 preview mode all the time and enjoy the improvements, without all of the drawbacks that kept me away from it before. I really appreciate your program very much.

Comments are closed.