Updating to Version 1.1

This is the process to update to a new version

 1 .Download the latest build from the FSS store…go to “My Account”

 2. Double and Triple Check that your current version is installed in a sub directory of program files.  If not see note at end.

 3: Open your current version of the “Fixer” and select “uninstall libraries” – if you run FSX using  multiple user accounts follow the instructions in the manual!

 3: Go to Windows Control Panel and “Programs & Features”  “Uninstall a program” and select DX10 Fixer and uninstall

 3a: Reboot computer

 4: Select the latest version of the installer you just downloaded and “Run as Admin”

 5. Enter license if prompted.

 5:Reboot Computer

 6: Right click the Fixer icon that should be residing on your desktop,

 7: Reinstall the libraries in the fixer and check your other options.

 8: Run FSX and make sure all is good.

  
 

NOTE  – IF you have installed DX10SceneryFixer into your FSX directory, then do NOT UNINSTALL.  Start at Step4 and install the new version into the default location.


 

About stevefsx

I don't use FSX that much. But I am very annoyed when it doesn't work properly!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Updating to Version 1.1

  1. Dave says:

    Hi Steve,
    Just saw that there is an update as im still on 1.0 original install. Little unclear about updating as the two conditions above for update instructions are not met. I did not install into program files nor did I install the main program into FSX or any subdirectory. Ive installed it outside of FSX altogether. Am I to uninstall first and reinstall?

  2. CaseyFallen says:

    Great news! Thanks. : )

  3. CaseyFallen says:

    It is in its own folder called “DX10SceneryFixer”

  4. CaseyFallen says:

    Hi Steve,

    I have a problem. I had bought your product right when it was released and followed your install instructions to the tee. As you know, those instructions were a little off, as I ended up installing o my main FSX folder. I have now downloaded the new installer from my FSS store account and reinstalled over the top. I know not to uninstall the old installer.

    Here is my issue…The default location now reads as the same location I already had my installer set to, which is inside the FSX main folder. Do I need to change the default location back manually now? If so, what is the default location? As it now will just say the one I added.

    Also, can I uninstall the old installer once I get the new installer where it is suppose to be? Or will it have to stay in my FSX forever now?

    Thanks for the info. Despite this small setback…This is the greatest product ever made for FSX! Thank you!

    • stevefsx says:

      Can you be very clear when you first installed, did you install into a directory called DX10SceneryFixer directly underneath your fsx directory or did you install into your fsx directory itself, so dx10controller.exe is in the fsx directory.

  5. Fran says:

    Hi, the lights of the default airports doesn’t appear as they sould. Papi lights of Aerosoft MegaAirport el Prat (Barcelona) desappear in the final approach. Why?

    • stevefsx says:

      That’s not a default airport and actually dx10sf has very little to do with default airport lighting. For legacy payware airports you should try a light field as explained in the manual it’s in the middle maybe around pg 38.

  6. James says:

    I haven’t been back for a while since I’ve been enjoying FLYING for once, instead of spending hours tweaking and such. Thanks again for such a great product.

    I am having difficulty with one Orbx airport in particular that I recently purchased – KJAC Jackson Hole. The lights are showing as semi-transparent rectangles, even during the day. I do not have this problem with any other Orbx addon airport. I am running v1.1 of your fixer. Any thoughts?

    • stevefsx says:

      Orbx have announced that they intend to support dx10, so there is a good chance it will be fixed. It’s worth doing a quick test by disabling the general shader and checking it isn’t something I am doing.

      • James says:

        I turned off the General Shader as you suggested, and Orbx KJAC still shows rectangles for lights. I assume that means it’s an Orbx issue?

        Why would your Fixer solve the DX10 lights for FTX Global and my other Orbx airports, but not KJAC? Not complaining – just curious.

      • stevefsx says:

        Because I worked with orbx on the ftx global lights and it was possible to detect them. I would doubt that the light you describe could be matched uniquely enough to fix it without breaking other things.

      • James says:

        Well I realized this was my fault. When I originally installed KJAC, I installed each of the 3 “packages” included in the download, not realizing that I only needed to install the FIRST one (the other 2 install automatically). So I basically effed up my install. My bad. After reinstalling, lights look perfect, except…

        Each light disappears as I approach it. Same happens throughout the entire KJAC scenery. Hmmm.

        Thanks for your kind responses.

  7. Isidro says:

    I followed the instructions and I get the “Validation failed:connecting to host. Plese ensure you are connected to the internet and click Nest to try again”

    I am connected to internet……..

    Any ideas?

    thank you.

    Isidro

    • stevefsx says:

      The best thing is to contact the flights sim store. You can get that error if you cut and paste the serial number and include a space by mistake.

    • Olivier says:

      I had the same problem. Shutting off my Firewall (Bitdefender) for 5 minutes fixed the problem.

Comments are closed.