DX10 Bloom Tuning

Its possible to adjust the bloom effect by editing the last few lines in General10.fxh and then recompiling the DX10 shaders.

 

The lines in question are

#else

 

static const float fHdrSpecularScale = 1.11;

static const float fHdrEmissiveScale = 6.0;

static const float fHdrCopyScale = 4.25;

static const float fHdrModAlphaScale = 3.92;

 

#endif

 

 

 

fHdrSpecularScale is the one that changes how much metallic objects shine.

 

e.g

 

No Bloom

 


 

 

 

Default Bloom (1.11)

 

 

Bloom on fHdrSpecularScale = 0.0f

 

 

Bloom on fHdrSpecularScale = 100.0f

 

 

 

Lights are more affected by float fHdrModAlphaScale

 

Bloom Off

 

Bloom Default

 

Bloom on float fHdrModAlphaScale = 14.0;

 

About stevefsx

I don't use FSX that much. But I am very annoyed when it doesn't work properly!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to DX10 Bloom Tuning

  1. Tomas says:

    I would also like that 4-point star bloom effect on DX10.

    Thank you.

  2. Mark says:

    Thanks, Steve. Yeah, I know bloom causes a big hit in DX9, but my rig can just about handle it. Although I was hoping that a similar effect in DX10 would cause less of a drop, seeing that DX10 runs so much better (almost double FPS) on my setup.

    Thanks for your time.

  3. Mark says:

    I thought I’d ask you, Steve, because trying to get information on FSX DX10 is hard work. The usual light effects seen in DX9 (i.e. sun glare and 4-point stars reflecting off metal/glass, etc) are not apparent in DX10. Is there anything that be done about it?

    Thank you.

    • stevefsx says:

      Dx10 bloom is different to dx9 you still get the sheen on objects and the sun increases in size in both. Lights get bigger in dx10 rather than having a star shape as in dx9.

      Not sure about Addons

      • Mark says:

        OK, that’s a shame because the ‘star’ effect offered in DX9, although a bit over the top, does look nice.

        Oh well, thanks for clarifying that for me anyway.

      • stevefsx says:

        Dx9 bloom is a big frame hit, they toned it down for dx10 and it’s a lot more performant. I don’t think it can be replicated but i haven’t had time to look in detail. I can add it to the list! But don’t hold your breath.

  4. Caio says:

    Hi, Steve. Thanks to your great fix, now I’m able to – at least – try to use DX10. I really appreciate what you’re doing. However some issues keeps me from fully enjoying this mode. One is the low FPS I get near massive cloud, and the other is the absence of vSync. Have you any idea on how to address those? My GPU is a Radeon 6950. Thank you so much.

    • Mark says:

      I’ve noticed that forcing Anisotropic Filtering outside of FSX causes a huge frame rate drop near clouds. I just use the default FSX AF setting and I’m happy with the quality. I have an Nvidia card, so using D3DOverrider sorts the VSync problem out for me, even allowing for Triple Buffering. I’m not sure if a similar AMD utility exists to offer the same, it’s been a while since I’ve had an Radeon.

      Hope this helps.

  5. Jason says:

    Just FYI, your most recent release of this fix has broken my (and several other people’s) installation of FSX. It now crashes entirely when trying to load with DX10 mode enabled.

  6. Brent Beale says:

    Hi Steve
    Dumb question but could you tell me how to recompile the DX10 shaders? Is it as simple as running your “RebuildDx10Shaders.bat” file in the v3.0 package on AVSIM?

    Thanks,
    Brent

Comments are closed.