AMD HD 7000 Anti Aliasing Summary (and probably HD 6000 as well)

In order to have any AA when in DX10 preview mode you must ensure that anti aliasing is enabled in game.

Be aware that sometimes when changing between DX9 and DX10 the setting seems to turn itself off. This doesn’t happen on my Win 7 PC with HD7700, but did used to occur on my Vista PC with a HD4670

 

 

The table below shows the mapping from the DX9 forced AA mode (Override) to how to obtain the same AA quality in DX 10

 

 

Morphological filtering blurs the image – its intended to help with games that have no AA at all. It’s a post processing filter. My advice is don’t tick it. If you do then my opinion is that it looks marginally better in DX10 than DX9 but is prone to chasing lines in both and is very soft focus – the lettering on the instruments gets blurred and in game menus are near unreadable. In my opinion it looks slightly less bad if you turn off all other forms of AA and at least you then gain the benefit of the high speed operation.

 

DX9 AntiAlias Level set with Override Application settings

DX10 Equivalent Setting
fsx.cfg [Graphics] CCC AA Mode

DX10 Alternate way of setting EQ options for 6000/7000

fsx.cfg [Graphics] CCC AA Mode

2X

MultiSamplesPerPixel =2

Use application settings

   

2XEQ

MultiSamplesPerPixel=2

Enhance application settings

MultiSamplesPerPixel =2

MultiSampleQuality=4

Use application Settings

4X

MultiSamplesPerPixel =4

Use application settings

   

4XEQ

MultiSamplesPerPixel =4

Enhance application settings

MultiSamplesPerPixel =4

MultiSampleQuality=8

Use application Settings

8X

MultiSamplesPerPixel=8

Use application settings

   

8XEQ

MultiSamplesPerPixel=8

Enhance application settings

MultiSamplesPerPixel=8

MultiSampleQuality=16

Use application Settings

 

Note: The default value for MultiSamplesPerPixel in DX10 is 4 – so having no entry for it in the graphics section is the same as MultiSamplesPerPixel = 4.

Note2: There are two ways to get to the intermediate EQ modes, either by enhancing or using MultiSampleQuality

 

There is a separate slider further down which is also called Anti-Aliasing Mode?!

This controls Super Sampling and Transparency. This fully works in DX10 so you can match the settings you had in DX9.

  • When the slider is to the left its normal Multi Sampling AA (MSAA)
  • When to the right its Super Sampled (SSAA)
  • The middle is termed adaptive – in this mode AMD attempts to use SSAA for transparent textures and MSAA otherwise

The key thing to know is that regardless of the other setting and fsx.cfg settings MSAA mode doesn’t anti alias transparent objects

SSAA is therefore a big improvement to trees and fences and other transparent objects. The way to explore this is to taxi up to a chain fence and play with the settings –also look at the edges of trees.

The difference between MSAA and SSAA is much greater than say between 4x and 8x, but there is a big cost too – you need to test with lots of trees/clouds to determine what setting works best for you. I cannot run 4x with SSAA and so I just run 4x MSAA. This is very smooth with some shimmer around trees, SSAA looks great but the card cannot manage a decent frame rate. Adaptive is in the middle, looks better than MSAA but is still just beyond the capabilities of my low end card.

 

 

 

About stevefsx

I don't use FSX that much. But I am very annoyed when it doesn't work properly!
This entry was posted in DX10. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to AMD HD 7000 Anti Aliasing Summary (and probably HD 6000 as well)

  1. Carlos Diaz says:

    AA in FSX DX10 doesn’t work correctly for me no matter how much I change the settings in RadeonPro. I’ve tried SMAA, FXAA, both, 8x, 4x, MSAA, CFAA (both narrow- and wide-tent) and I only get a very poor AA.

    • Charles says:

      In the Radeon CCC control panel for AMD cards, all you can do is set AA to SUPERSAMPLE. The AA setting 2x 4x 8x can only be set IN THE SIMULATOR SETTINGS. Setting the video card driver applies SUPERSAMPLE to the AA setting making it sharper. Do NOT use Edge Detect SMAA FXAA or any of that. Leave the driver set to LET APPLICATION DECIDE. The same issue exists to a degree with nVidia cards. They need to use SGSS in the driver. Only the sim can select AA level.

      Charles.

      • Carlos Diaz says:

        I think it is worth saying that my laptop has an Intel HD Graphics 3000 as the integrated card and an ATI Radeon HD 7670 M as the dedicated card. I can’t disable either of those because the I can’t start FSX. I’m getting a black screen when FSX is in full-screen mode, but I can still hear the sounds of the sim.

    • stevefsx says:

      As Charles says you really need to follow the instructions above – settings in Radeon pro have little effect – first get MSAA working in game and then add super sample.

      Read the latest DX10 guide from here
      http://www.nzfsim.org/index.php?dsp=dload&fname=DX10_HowTo.pdf

      The section on AMD is written by Charles.

      • Carlos Diaz says:

        I downloaded the AMD Catalyst 12.8 for my Radeon 7670 M, and now I get a “code 43” error in device manager for the “AMD Radeon HD 7670M Series”. I have no clue on how to fix that. I remember very well that before the graphics driver change, I had “Radeon HD 7670M” as the screen adapter for my graphics card, but now the name is different.

      • Carlos Diaz says:

        Problem solved. I downloaded the drivers from the HP website and voilà.

  2. Daniel says:

    Thank you so much for this hint! I´ve been struggling AA problems under DX 10 for months, had no idea that AA had to be left on in FSX.

  3. Charles says:

    Steve. Great job on all this. My new HS 7970 3GB is rocking this DX10 with your patch. Brilliant work. I have been flying in overcast weather with 8xSSAA with framerates in the 30’s WOW! I do have one thing I ran into though. The tail light on the Carenado F33A presents itself as a blue box. Is this fixed with that one texture you included in the patch in the optionals?

    Thanks again!

    • stevefsx says:

      I am glad you are enjoying it! I am very sorry but I don’t have anything useful to say about the tail light as I don’t have that plane. I would guess its a light embedded in the model rather than an effect in aircraft.cfg and so cannot be fixed with the ballast.fx approach.

      • Charles says:

        Someone suggested I steal the light texture from another plane that works. Something to do with the light texture missing so I see that. It’s the Nav lights and tail on this F33A model.

        A few questions if that is ok.

        1. Regarding MultiSamplesPerPixel, I see how both 8 and 4 work (8xAA and 4xAA) would 6 be a viable option on AMD? Would that be 6xAA? As a past owner of a GTX660Ti and now a 7970 Ghz, I find that (DX9) the 8xSSAA with 2xSGSS on nVidia slightly sharper than what (DX9) 4xSSAA ATI was. But Slightly. Now that I am on DX10 mode, 4xSSAA with AMD is definately an improvement to what I had for 4xSSAA in DX9. I know in DX10, 8xSSAA is option as well but still 8xSSAA in DX10 has some scenarios where the card will chug. Like deep overcast cloud layers where there is heavy autogen when Cloud Density is at MAX. 8xSSAA introduces Stutter and inconsistant framerates. I am at work and only just started to wonder about 6 as a number that would work as an intermediate setting.

        2. Vsync. Using the forcefullscreenvsync line in the CFG did not work. Forcing vSync via AMD’s CCC did not work. Did you ever get it to work? I found I actually CAN force vsync with the tool called RadeonPro. It also has a few features I have been thinking of toying with but have not had time to test. Forcing Volumetric Ambient Occlusion. Might make things even more pretty but I need to test it when I get time.

        3. Runway edges and center lines in DX10 seem to have more aliasing than the rest of the scene when you are screaming down the runway. That and AMD presents those lines as a brighter white than nVidia. Is there a possible “texture fix/replacement” that you can imagine off hand to lessen that? Something more subtle?

        In closing I would like to tell you personally that what you have done to make DX10 work as well as it does now is possibly the biggest breakthrough in FSX performance and IQ ever. Yes. Moreso than Bjote’s tweaking tool as I found that to have minimal impact beyond simply allowing me to learn the vsync setting in the cfg and possibly the BP=0 trick (jury is still out on this one for me and I need to test more).

        People need to get educated on this expecially because AA now works in DX10 (latest drivers from both camps fixed this?). That and the FPS increase increase and stutter removal has always been the holy grail for FSX. This was the answer all along. It’s right here in everyones face. Dev’s need to pull thier heads out and ensure that thier products are DX10 friendly and the community at large need to adopt this and apply the pressure for this to come to the surface as the defacto standard in FSX. Forget tweaking into the late hours or hoping P3D fixes us! DX10 FSX SP2 is faster. Depth of field somewhat more believable. Lighting more subtle. It is virtually stutter free in all scenarios. It allows AMD/ATI cards to perform equally with MAX Cloud density to thier nVidia counterparts. No need for the TITAN now. It is for all intents and purposes where ACES were taking this product before they were sent packing. You have picked up the line from there and marched on. Please stick with it. I think we need to get you working for someone to produce a commercial patch if you can continue patching out any remaining issues. I would pay cash money for that.

        Thanks for doing what you do!

        Charles.

  4. René says:

    Dear Steve,
    I want to make use of the DX10 mode but i’ll get a black screen. I followed your settings but nothing changes. I’ll use 2x HD7970 crossfire cards. What am i doing wrong… Is this a familiar startup issue?
    Best regards and thank you in advance,

Comments are closed.