DX10 VC Shadowing

I have been experimenting hacking the shadowmap logic to blur the shadow edge.

So see what you think

Original

 

Modified

 

Its not totally perfect there is still a little movement on the shadow edge if you look very closely but the overall impression seems good to me. I will test a bit more and release in a few weeks.

About stevefsx

I don't use FSX that much. But I am very annoyed when it doesn't work properly!
This entry was posted in DX10. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to DX10 VC Shadowing

  1. vinod kumar says:

    Hi Steve,

    I turned OFF HD shadows and it solved the problem completely! Don’t know why only captainsim 777 has a problem with HD shadows.. anyway, I can live without HD shadows for the 777 as long as i can enjoy other cool features of DX10. So thanks for the solution!
    Vinod

  2. vinod kumar says:

    Hi Steve.. I just purchased the Captainsim 777 recently and have been running with your DX10 fixes.. In the VC, when i look out straight, everything in the cockpit is very dark/poorly lit. As i turn my head using EZDOK, things start to light up and shadows move, etc.. but i move my head back to pilot position, all shadows converge on the panel and whole cockpit gets dark (regardless of where the sun is relative to aircraft). When i move out of the VC, i see that there is a black capsule that surrounds the VC in captainsim 777. May be this is causing the problem?

  3. Drew says:

    Steve, I got back into fsx and found your dx10 fixes, Thank you so much! Have you found a fix for flickering building shadows? JFK is a good example. Flickering on airport building roof tops when ground shadows are turned on.

  4. stevefsx says:

    Have you tried right click on setup.bat and selected “run as administrator”?

  5. mark says:

    hi Steve
    i just wanted to ask if there is a way to make aircraft self shadows also smoother if i am using DX9? Because they appear very block when looking from the wing view of PMDG aircraft…

    Mark

    • stevefsx says:

      You could try setting

      ShadowMappingQuality=2

      In the [display] section of fsx.cfg

      According to the fsx sdk that’s the higher quality but it will occur anyway if the graphics slider is HIGH or ULTRAHIGH

  6. David Abreu says:

    Steve I made a video demonstrating you DX10 shadow fix.
    It really makes FSX look closer to DCS cockpit shadowing and
    what Microsoft released in “Flight!”. Awesome work. Hope you
    enjoy this simple video! Can’t thank you enough!

    My FSX simply crashes over and over in DX9 while ALT TABBING
    or ALT ENTERING. Thanks!

  7. Chas says:

    Paul, many thanks for your help, you are a star!

    Chas

  8. Paul Johnson says:

    Post #367 over at Avsim, Chas. Mine is working flawlessly, so I zipped it into my DropBox.

    http://forum.avsim.net/topic/376140-dx10-flashing-runways-experimental-shader/page__st__350

    The original General is also ther – in Post 337. (for safety)!!

  9. Chas says:

    Steve,
    I cannot run the .bat file. The attributes of the file are read only and I have not been able to find a solution. I am using Win7 Please can you send me the modified file.

    Chas

    • stevefsx says:

      Chas

      I don’t fully understand your problem! Does the setup.bat run and if so what error does it display? Best to send me an email to the yahoo account in the readme file.

      • Chas says:

        Hello Steve,

        The .bat file does run but cannot modify the shader General10 file because it is read only. I have tried everything I can to allow the file to be modified, alas to no avail. I thought you might be able to send me a copy of the modified shader file to simplify things for me. I have manually edited the file previously, this time round I am not sure what I need to do to manually edit the file. The error reports…..”General10.FX has read only attribute set” when I run the .bat file.

        Chas

  10. FrankK says:

    Steve,
    Have you found a way of increasing the “blackness” of the aircraft shadow on the ground in DX10 ?. At present I’m getting a very light grey and not that realistic while in DX9 its black.?

    • stevefsx says:

      Frank

      Are you using enb series with DX9 – I dont see any great difference taking a quick look.
      Also what location and time of day are you looking at?

      Steve

  11. Patrik says:

    looks great! you rock!
    If you can fix this and the NAV lights on the plane, then there is no more reason to stay on DX9 for me! great work

  12. Anthony Vos says:

    Take your time, I understand!

  13. Anthony Vos says:

    Hi Steve, that shadow map looks avsolutely awesome! Are you close to releasing it?

  14. Hamza Nadda says:

    I got the Ground Flickering fixed thanks to you! The only problem I have left is this shadow problem! I look forward to seeing this fix! Great job Steve!

  15. TomazDrnovsek says:

    Dude, wow! You’re making things thought impossible.. possible!

  16. Oliver Ooi says:

    wow! it looks so much nicer!

Comments are closed.